Towns in Galway that were identified in the O'Donovan Field Books

Place NameCivil ParishSituation
AhascraghAhascraghAhascragh Town is situated in the West of this parish on the townland of Ahascragh West in the barony of Kilconnel. It lies on the side of a hill near a small river of the same name.
BallinamoreKilleroranThis town is situated at the Western side of the parish immediately north of the River Shiven on the townland of Curraghbeg in this parish and on Ballybaan townland in the parish of Killian.
Castleblakeny (town)KillosolanIs situated in the S. West of the parish on Castleblakeney townland in Tiaquin barony.
Clifden (town of)OmeySituated in the S. corner of the townland of same name, on the S. boundary of the parish of Omey and on Glen River.
Dunmore TownDunmore ParishIn the E. of Dunmore Town townland.
Galway TownSt. NicholasS.W. of the parish.
HeadfordKillursaIn the S. side of the townland of Headford.
Kilconnel (Town of)KilconnellIs situated in the S. East of this parish on Curraneena, Abbey Field, Ellagh and Glebe of Ballanderry townlands.
Oughterard TownKilcumminIn the northern extremity of the parish about 14 miles N.W. of the town of Galway.
Roundstone TownMoyrusIn the E. extremity of the townland of Roundstone
Town of CastleblakeneyKillosolanIs situated about the centre of the townland Castleblakeny and about ¼ of a mile S. West of the boundary mearing between the townlands Ashfield and Cuggaun in the parish of Ballymacward and Castleblakeny in this parish.
Town of GortKiltartanStands on the South West point of the townland Gort, parish Kiltartan, Eastern extremity, townland Ballylee, parish of Kilmacduach and North of the townland of Lavally, parish of Beagh, all in the Barony of Kiltartan and County Galway, North and South of Beagh, or Gort River. [Note added at end of list of trades in Gort] The Town of Gort is in South of the County Galway 17¾ Irish miles from Galway and is north of Ennis in the County of Clare by 17 miles. The mail coach from Limerick to Galway passes through it daily. The town stands in 3 parishes and 3 townlands viz. Beagh Ph. Kilmacduach and Kiltartan, all in the Barony of Kiltartan.
Town of KilconnelKilconnellThis town is situated in the South East part of the parish about six miles west of Ballinasloe and five miles South of Ahascragh, it stands on Abbey Field, Ellagh, Ballanderry and Glebe of Ballanderry townlands.
Town of KinvarraKinvarradoorusIn the North East of the parish of Kinvarra, Barony of Kiltartan and County Galway, West of Kinvarra Bay.
Town of TuamTuam ParishIn town Park No. 1, 2, 3 and 4 townlands.